CHENNAI: The ruling AIADMK in Tamil Nadu on Thursday urged Election Commission to transfer four IPS officersIGP (Central Zone) Deepak M Damor, IGP (West Zone) A Amal Raj, Coimbatore Commissioner of Police S Davidson Devasirvatham and Coimbatore Rural SP Selva Nagarathnam — who were posted by the commission before assembly election.
In a petition to the commission, the AIADMK advocates wing recalled a complaint preferred against the four officers, alleging that they were acting against the ruling party and hand in glove with the opposition DMK.
“The officers let the DMK perpetrate several illegal activities in the form of cash distribution to voters, possession of cash for distribution, enabling cash distribution to be done by the DMK cadres” the petition said.
The party alleged that a case was foisted on party workers by the instructions of Coimbatore commissioner of police. The commissioner and IG (West Zone) had intentionally made unwarranted searches on the premises of the party workers and tried to threaten them.
“The chief electoral officer relaxed the rules for the election,” the petition said, urging the commission to post them in their previous posts.
It demanded that the commission reinstate three senior IPS officers, H M Jayaram, R Dhinakaran and Ara Arularasu, to their original posts prior to the elections. The commission transferred the trio to the office of the DGP, headquarters, and instructed no posting without its permission.
Incidentally, the Coimbatore police registered two cases against AIADMK candidate and local minister S P Velumani for violation of the model code of conduct.

Source link Times of India


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »